top of page


A History of the Gormanston Hurling Tournament

In the late 1990's Dublin County Board operated special indoor Hurling Tournaments to help the development of hurling in Dublin. There were initially two venues, DCU which was run by Tom Ryan of Na Fianna, and the Basketball Arena in Tallaght which was run by Noeleen Firth from Faugh Hurling Club.


In 1999 Denis Forde Skerries Harps organised indoor hurling particularly for Dublin North Clubs in Aras Preston Indoor Complex, Gormanston, Co. Meath. The first clubs involved were Skerries Harps, St. Maur's Rush, O' Dwyer's Balbriggan, St. Pat's Stamullan, Co. Meath. St. Pat's Donabate,
Kiltale, Dunshaughlin & Donaghmore Ashbourne.


Camogie was also included with teams from Skerries Harps, O'Dwyer's and St.Pat's Stamullen.

The success of this tournament spread fast with many more clubs applying to take part. From small beginnings the Tournament quickly expanded' catering for clubs from all parts of Dublin and also attracting clubs in the wider Leinster area. The most prominent non Dublin clubs were Kiltale, Ratoath, Collon, Kildalkey, Nh. Oliver Plunkett's, Drogheda and St. Colmcille, Laytown.


In the early years Dublin Juvenile Board included the dates of the various venues in their master calendar of fixtures. This has however ceased in later years because there was no longer a need to promote the Tournament as it was over-subscribed. The advantage of Gormanston as a venue was that it could be pre booked from year to year. This facility was not available in DCU or Tallaght Arena with the result that both these Tournaments could not be maintained. From the earliest times St. Maur's GAA Club Rush has been actively involved in running the Tournament in Gormanston. The two principal persons from Rush GAA Club were Canice Reid and Ann Harford.


The Tournament has evolved over the years. Prior to the "GO Games" era, we had leagues and competitions. However Leagues, Scores and winners have now ceased in-line with Croke Park Directives. We have retained some cups and trophies which are awarded to Clubs in recognition of their efforts to develop hurling in their club.


Denis Forde

Skerries Harps

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Gormanston Hurling

Canice Reid

St Maurs

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon

Contact Us

Hurling DC
Gormanston Hurling Tournament

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page